As this analysis of Missouri SCR15 shows, while the states may apply for a Constitutional convention (ConCon), Congress issues call, and the Supremacy clause of the Constitution gives to Congress, not the states, the authority to make all laws for carrying into execution its powers. 

“So Congress makes the laws to organize the convention; and may make all laws necessary and proper to organize the convention. That includes determining how Delegates will be selected.
Any Resolution made by the Missouri General Assembly which contradicts these provisions of the US Constitution is unconstitutional and violates the “supremacy clause”.

​-- False Assurances in Missouri's SCR 15 re Selection & Control of Delegates to an Art. V Convention

This Tues. April 25, four ConCon bills that have already passed the Missouri Senate will be heard in the House Special Committee on Government Oversight at Noon (CDT) or immediately after the House floor session ends. 

They areSCR4 (HCR5) (for a convention of states COS); as well as other risky ConCon related proposals: SCR9 (HCR13) (WP);  SCR14 (HCR10) (TML); and  SCR21 (Delegate Rules).

Get the Facts on ConCon:

  • Response to Jim Talent
  • MOEF Letter Concerning ConCon
  • Is Article V in Our Future?

    
Please educate all 13 members of the Missouri House committee (as well as your own representative) and ask them to VOTE NO on SCR4 (HCR5), SCR9 (HCR13), SCR14 (HCR10), SCR21, and any other Article V Convention Applications from Missouri!Legislative Alert -- Opposes all ConCon Proposals including Article V ConCons and Compacts. 

Jefferson City Capitol Switchboard phone number: 573 751 2000

House Special Committee on Government Oversight members:

  • Gretchen.Bangert@house.mo.gov
  • Jerome.Barnes@house.mo.gov
  • Rick.Brattin@house.mo.gov
  • Wanda.Brown@house.mo.gov
  • Phil.Christofanelli@house.mo.gov
  • Paul.Fitzwater@house.mo.gov
  • Justin.Hill@house.mo.gov
  • Peter.Merideth@house.mo.gov
  • Jeff.Messenger@house.mo.gov
  • Gina.Mitten@house.mo.gov
  • Mike.Moon@house.mo.gov
  • Cheri.Toalson-Reisch@house.mo.gov
  • Jered.Taylor@house.mo.gov


Thank you for defending our Constitution!

Vote NO on ConCon!
Rewriting the U.S. Constitution is a bad idea and NOT conservative. The Missouri Legislature is considering a call for a new Constitutional Convention. Any "Convention of the States" will allow liberals to rewrite our Constitution and eliminate the Second Amendment! Call your State Representative to VOTE NO on an Article V convention or any "compact" with other states. Yes, we need our elected officials to obey the law, but writing new laws will not rein in out-of-control government.

There are NO rules in federal law on a Constitutional Convention. Anything goes! A call has no limits on a Convention's purpose, procedure, agenda, or delegates.

Conservatives should spend time and money electing conservative leaders who will obey the laws; not trying to spend their energies changing our U.S. Constitution.

2019 MO ConCon

Resources

2017 ConCon Alert

Dedicated to the preservation of the family and faith fought for by our founding fathers.